The IRS raised the standard mileage rates for the second half of 2026, effective July 1, with the business rate increasing from 72.5 cents to 76 cents per mile. Taxpayers who use their vehicle for business, medical, or qualifying moving purposes will need to track mileage separately for each half of the year. Learn what the new rates mean for your deductions, reimbursement policies, and recordkeeping.
Payroll
What Farmers Need to Know About Minnesota’s Paid Family and Medical Leave Program
A big change is coming to Minnesota’s workforce that farmers need to prepare for: Minnesota Paid Family and Medical Leave. If you’re a farmer, there are steps you are required to take, even if you don’t pay federal or state unemployment taxes on your employee wages. Read more in the West Central Tribune’s fall edition… Continue Reading
USDA Releases Funding to Boost Rural Energy and Biofuel Initiatives
On March 31, the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) announced the release of previously obligated funding under the Rural Energy For America Program (REAP), Empowering Rural America (New ERA), and Powering Affordable Clean Energy (PACE) programs. Recipients of this funding have 30 days to review and voluntarily revise their project plans to align with President… Continue Reading
Listen to Our Feature with The Chamber serving the Meeker County Area
We’re thrilled to be the February business spotlight with The Chamber serving the Meeker County Area. Catch our Chamber Chat feature below, originally aired on KLFD Radio on February 11.
What All Business Owners Should Know About Minnesota’s Classification Law for Independent Contractors
In 2024, Governor Walz signed into law significant changes to Minnesota’s independent contractor and employment laws. Here’s what you need to know to navigate these changes successfully. Why Does Worker Classification Matter? Improperly classifying employees as independent contractors can result in steep penalties—up to $10,000 for each violation. This misclassification can also trigger back taxes,… Continue Reading
TIMELY LEGISLATIVE UPDATES TO PAID LEAVE AND SICK AND SAFE TIME IN MINNESOTA
Minnesota Paid Leave Law Starting in January 2026, Minnesota will enact Paid Leave Legislation, becoming the 13th state to do so. This guarantees job protection and partial wage replacement for individuals unable to work due to a qualifying condition lasting at least seven days. Paid Leave can be used for but not limited to medical,… Continue Reading













